OMSI building and front plaza

About Us

Who we are

Founded in 1944, OMSI is one of the nation’s leading science museums with an international reputation in science education. Our mission is to inspire curiosity by creating engaging science learning experiences for students of all ages and backgrounds. We foster experimentation and the exchange of ideas, and we help our community make smart, informed choices.

We are dedicated to helping people build the confidence and skills they need for whatever the future holds through hands-on, high-quality learning experiences in the museum, at our world-class resident camps, and as part of the largest statewide science education program in the country.

OMSI is an independent, non-profit 501(c)(3) organization that receives no state or local tax support and relies on admissions, memberships, and donations to continue our educational mission, programs, and exhibit development.

Where we've been

OMSI began with the exhibition of Oregon’s rich natural resources with the opening of the City Hall Museum in 1896. But with the Great Depression and World War II, it wasn’t until the mid-forties that support for the museum really began to grow. Businessman Ralph Lloyd hosted the temporary “Oregon Museum of Science and Industry” in his house on NE Hassalo Street, boasting the Northwest's first public planetarium and its 20-minute trip to the stars.

With annual attendance swelling to over 25,000 in 1955 and the house scheduled for demolition, the City Council stepped forward to lease land in Washington Park to OMSI for the sum of one dollar per year. In the spirit of pioneer barn-raisings, over 400 volunteer union brick layers and hod carriers laid 102,000 bricks in one day, and on June 7, 1958, the dream of a dedicated, hands-on science museum became a reality.

By the mid-1980's, OMSI's popularity surpassed the size of its facility six times over and a new group of community leaders began a $32M campaign to build a state-of-the-art science center, culminating with a milestone donation from longtime supporter, Portland General Electric, of an 18.5-acre site that held a historic sawdust-fired power generation plant. On October 24, 1992, the new 219,000 square-foot facilities opened, adding the USS Blueback, the last non-nuclear powered submarine built by the U.S. Navy, just two years later.

Today, the museum serves over 1 million visitors at the museum and through off-site education programs. OMSI is ranked as one of the top science centers in the United States and has an international reputation for its innovative exhibits and educational programs.

Where We're Going

OMSI, collaborating with partners, will ignite an education transformation at the intersection of science, technology and design, and weave a thriving innovation district into the fabric of Portland, that spreads opportunities across the Northwest.

20 Year Vision5 Year Plan

Our Mission

OMSI's mission is to inspire curiosity through engaging science learning experiences, foster experimentation, and the exchange of ideas, and stimulate informed action.

Our Equity Statement

OMSI respects, values and celebrates the unique attributes, characteristics and perspectives that make each person who they are. We believe that we will be successful in accomplishing our mission and vision when we seek out and respond to diversity of participation, thought and action. We will work to dismantle barriers to equity and access to the experiences OMSI provides and to create welcoming environments and conditions where all people can reach their full potential.


Let's build the future together.

You've seen how partners of the past built the museum from the ground up. How can you help move us forward? 

Our Leadership

Erin Graham

Erin Graham

President and CEO

Nancy Stueber

Nancy Stueber

President Emeritus

Damien Francaviglia

Damien Francaviglia

VP, Finance and Technology

Eric Buenrostro Azua

Eric Buenrostro Azua

VP, People and Culture

Love Centerwall

Love Centerwall

VP, Development

Ken Wilson

Ken Wilson

VP, Campus Development

Russ Repp

Russ Repp

VP, Marketing and Retail

Our Board of Trustees

A special group of volunteers with a passion for the museum, our community, and science education.

Claudia Valderrama
Arya Behbehani
Portland General Electric
Roy Haggerty
Oregon State University
Alistair Firmin
Alistair Firmin
Immediate Past Board Chair
Bluestone Process Dynamics
Joe Bingold
Joe Bingold
Stefan Bird of Pacific Power
Stefan Bird
Pacific Power
Janet Campbell
Oregon Health Leadership Council
Christopher Carpenter
The Weir Group
Meghann Dryer
Abed Farhan
Yonette Fine
Yonette Fine
Living Room Realty
Lakecia Gunter
Lakecia Gunter
Microsoft Corporation
Alisa Johnston
Washington Trust
Eric C. Meslow
Eric C. Meslow
Timbercon, Inc.
Jackie Seto of Side People Consulting
Jackie Seto
Side People Consulting
Russell Sneddon
Russell Sneddon
Moonstruck Chocolate
John Wheeler
Vernier Software & Technology
Justin Yuen
Justin Yuen
Emeritus Board

We can't do this alone. See who's helped along the way.

Allen Alley 1997 to 2005
Jean Auel 1992 to 1996
Tony Bacos 2010 to 2013
Joe Barra 2008 to 2016
Bob Beal 2007 to 2013
John Beckman * 1994 to 1995
Leonard Bergstien 1986 to 1992
Larry Black 1981 to 1987
Eric Blackburn 2014 to 2020
Ernest Bloch * 1994 to 1998
Alisa Brake 2006 to 2009
Jennifer Bruml 2008 to 2016
Kurt Bruun 2009 to 2015
Margaret Carter 2000 to 2008
Patrick Clancy 1996 to 1998
Debi Coleman 1997 to 2000
Marc Compton 2006 to 2012
Kimberly Cooper 2011 to 2017
Steve Cox 2004 to 2012
Ambrose "Bubby" Cronin III * 1974 to 1978
Yvonne Curtis 2010 to 2013
Beth deHamel 1996 to 2004
Harry Demorest 1995 to 2004
Su Embree 2014 to 2020
Ryan Flynn 2014 to 2015
Orcilia Forbes * 1983 to 1989
Jim Francesconi 1998 to 2004
Kathleen Geyer 1976 to 1979
William Glasgow 1974 to 1982
Al Glowasky 1996 to 2002
Chris Hall 2001 to 2007
Reginald Hamlett 2014 to 2019
Joseph Hanna 1995 to 2001
John Harker 1997 to 2005
Robert Harrison 1991 to 2000
Blake Hedinger Bruun 2008 to 2010, 2013 to 2015
Michael Henderson 1983 to 1987
Ed Hepp 2003 to 2009
Ken Hick 2015 to 2018
Thomas Horstmann* * 1976 to 1983
Trond Ingvaldsen 2008 to 2016
Jack Isselmann 2001 to 2002
Jon Jaqua 2004 to 2010
Lynn Johnson 2001 to 2009
Sue Keil 2011 to 2018
Harpel Keller 1970 to 1976
Paula Kinney 1992 to 1995
Robert “Buzz” Kross 2015 to 2017
Janet Labar 2018 to 2019
Arnold Labby 1978 to 1979
Patrick LaCrosse 2000 to 2006
Fritz Lake * 2011 to 2013
William Lyons * 1981 to 1988
Hugh Mackworth 2000 to 2006
Gary Maffei 1995 to 2003
Elaine McCall 2001 to 2007
Susan Miller 2016 to 2020
Dolores Orfanakis 2004 to 2010
Sastry Pantula 2016 to 2018
Linda Pearce 2014 to 2018
Claris Poppert 1988 to 1996
Preston Pulliams 2007 to 2010
Dilip Ratnam 2004 to 2011
Lawretta Ray * 1981 to 1987
Patrick Reiten 2003 to 2009
Donald Remlinger 2006 to 2011
Arthur Riedel * 1980 to 1986
Paul Risser * 2001 to 2002
Joseph Robertson 2004 to 2010
Lawrence Rockwood* * 1962 to 1969, 1971 to 1974
Richard Roman 1994 to 2002
Donald Sacco 1998 to 2002
April Sanderson 2008 to 2015
Robert Scanlan 1981 to 1987
Barbara Sue Seal 1988 to 1995
Penny Serrurier 2011 to 2020
Joan Smith 1973 to 1983
Susan Sokol Blosser 1995 to 2001
Judy South 2006 to 2012
Thomas Sperry 2012 to 2017
Nick Stanley 1994 to 2000
Greg Struxness 2003 to 2009
Hank Swigert 1985 to 1992
Bill Tagmyer * 1998 to 2004
Gerri Tisdel 1987 to 1994
Carol Van Natta 2012 to 2015
Dave Vernier 2000 to 2008
Don Vollum 2007 to 2015
Walter Weyler 2011 to 2015
Andy Wihtol 1991 to 1995
Richard Wollenberg 1996 to 2004

Looking for More Info?

We are an independent, non-profit 501(c)(3) organization that receives no state or local tax support and relies on admissions, memberships and donations to continue our educational mission, programs and exhibits.

FY2021 Financial StatementsForm 990 2020 Annual Report