Harvest Festival

OCT 1 | 10-4PM

Free Event | Museum Admission Not Included | $5 Parking Fee
 
Enjoy the bounty of Oregon while indulging in snacks, sweets, beer and produce from the Pacific Northwest region! Learn about Oregon specialty crops with over 40 vendors from local farms, CSA’s, cooking demonstrations and artisan vendors. There’s fun for the whole family, including kids activities, llamas, construction equipment, a beer tent and live entertainment on the stage. Come celebrate the harvest season at OMSI!

 

KIDS ACTIVITIES

11:45AM, 12:45PM, 1:45PM | Strawberry DNA Extractions:  See DNA with the naked eye when we extract it from strawberries

All Day |  Arm Painting: Choose from a selection of fall specialty crops and get it painted on your arm!

All Day | Craft a Crop: Berry botanical illustration coloring pages and specialty crop stencils

All Day | Crops up Close: investigate your food with an iPad microscope 

All Day | Magic color changing berry pH paper

All Day | Oregon crop map puzzle

 

STAGE DEMOS

11 AM | Learn how to identify and harvest mushrooms with OMSI head chef Kit Zhu  and Bob Neuffer from Misty Mountain Mushrooms. 

12 PM | Jam out with Joe Dougherty as he teaches you how to make home made jam with locally foraged huckleberries. 

1PM | Butter up buttercup as Bonnie Morales from Kachka teaches you how to make home made cultured butter. 

2PM | The Gnocchi Story: Where it came from and how to make it, demonstrated by Christin Day from Imperial restaurant. 

3PM | Join the fun guy Kit for another walk through mushroom identification, harvesting, and tasting! 

 

HOT FOOD VENDORS

Aybla Grill Food Cart | www.ayblagrill.com/

Nom Nom Taiwan | www.facebook.com/nomnompdx/

Spice of Africa | spiceofafricaexper.wixsite.com/a-taste-of-africa 

Tandoor Kitchen | portlandtandoor.com/ 

 

VENDORS

 

12 Bridge Ciderworks | 12bridgeciderworks.com/

Blossom Vinegars | www.blossomvinegars.com/

Bold Coffee Roasters | boldcoffeeroasters.com/

Cardamom Hills | www.cardamomhillstc.com

Criations 4-H club | extension.oregonstate.edu/clackamas/4h 

FiMi Kingston | www.fimikingston.com/

Fringe Meadery | www.fringemead.com

Full Plate Farm | www.fullplatefarm.com 

Gales Meadow Farm | www.galesmeadow.com/

Green Mountain Energy | www.greenmountainenergy.com

Ground Up Nut Butters | www.grounduppdx.com/

Hot Mama Salsa | www.hotmamasalsapdx.com/

Imperfect Produce | www.imperfectproduce.com/

Mama Tee’s Farm | mamateesfarm.com/

Momo Cocoa Co. | www.facebook.com/momococoaco/ 

Mountain Mel’s | www.mountainmels.com

Natural Grocers | www.naturalgrocers.com/

Nomad Mix | www.nomadmix.com

Nourishing Kitchens | www.nourishingkitchenspantry.com/

Oregon Brineworks | oregonbrineworks.com/

OSU Extension Squash Project

Parlo Snacks | parlosnacks.com/

Pasta Gardener | www.pastagardner.com/

PDX Bitters Projectwww.portlandbittersproject.com/

Plum Deluxe | www.plumdeluxe.com

Portland Bloody Mary Mix | portlandbloodymarymix.com/

Portland Cider Co | www.portlandcider.com

River Wave Foods| www.riverwavefoods.com/

Sasquatch Sauces | www.sasquatchsauces.com

Schoolyard Farms | www.schoolyardfarms.org

Seed to Health | www.seedtohealth.com/

Six Stix Pretzels | facebook.com/SIX-STIX-Gourmet-Pretzels-llc-1792376124344387/

SoupCycle | www.soupcycle.com

Swarm Portland | www.swarmportland.org  

Sweet Tot | www.sweettot.com

USA Pears | www.usapears.org

Vital Vinegars | www.vitalvinegars.com

Water Avenue Coffee | www.wateravenuecoffee.com

Winslow Food Forest | www.winslowfoodforest.com 

 

The Harvest Festival is supported by a USDA Specialty Crop Block Grant through the Oregon Department of Agriculture.

 

Questions? Call 503.797.4675 or email foodscience@omsi.edu.